Honey Bear

Have you listened to this song by Bryant Oden? It is cute and so singable that it will linger around you most of the day or until you go to bed at least šŸ™‚ Neil woke up this morning and as usual nudged us up by saying, “it is morning time.” As soon as the sun shines, champ is up and ready for the day. So today he said these golden words and went back to sleep next to us. This was that deep, heavy breathing sort of sleep. He was 5 minutes into it and started screaming in his sleep. It went like this, “Give me my chocolate back honey bear.”

He wept big, beady tears and I tried to wake him from his sleep. Imagine what the world of a child is like? My dreams are so much more complicated. They are complex, layered and sometimes frightful to revisit. My dreams are so unlike what a child wants at this point in his life. This is when I wish he never grows up. I woke him up gently and asked him why he was crying. He hugged me tight and said, “Mama, the honey bear snatched my chocolate. The bear that eats bamboo you know. That bear ate my chocolate. Will you buy me another one today?”

How can I not promise him one for the day? It tugged at me so much. He talked of a honey bear and then layered it with a panda bear who ate bamboo. Maybe it is a manifestation of some big kid at play school snatching something from him. I held onto him for a while and rocked him gently. He was content with being held. The moment passed and then he jumped off and went about his morning. So simple these years are. I hope he learns along the way that life can be simple; as simple as he wants it to be.

We find delight in the beauty and happiness of children that makes the heart too big for the body.
Ralph Waldo Emerson

Leave a Reply

