Labor of Love

 

 

 

 

Before

 

 

 

 

 

After

The history and the process:

Our drive back from Austin usually entails a stop at Salado. This quaint little town sits on the cuff of I-35 unassumingly. If you didn’t know about this charming little antique town, you’d easily assume it to be nothing and drive on. I’ve stopped and browsed a gazillion times here, but never picked anything up. I suppose the simple reason of not knowing what to do with a vintage in an otherwise contemporary home was the reason.

This piece spoke to me. I can hear the laughs! Speaking in a metaphorical sense of sorts. It reminded me of my grandfather’s side tables at home in India. He had them custom-made some 60 years ago since that was the thing to do back then. It still sits at home and dutifully serves. The wood is sturdy, strong, and aged.

When I say this piece spoke to me, it is meant as a reminder of years gone by. A time stamp.

The process:

The wood was beautiful as is, but it would not blend in with the rest of the furniture at home. So I had to figure out a way to blend it in.

– The fabric was worn out and dusty. The wood and the foam were almost rotten. The first step was to get the wood, the fabric and the foam out.

– As you can see in the before photograph, I undid the plank from the main frame.

– Spray painted the frame to another color and voila…

– Went to Ikea and bought some new fabric. Cut it out just a little bigger than the measurement of the plank, so it is easy to staple it to the underside. I inserted cut some foam to the measurement of the plank, glued it to the plank and covered it with the fabric.

– The main frame had dried by now. So I put the plank back on and screwed it in place.

Cost benefit analysis:

Vintage table : $20

Spray paint $3.17

Wood plank : $ 3.78

Fabric: $6.99/ yd

Foam: $ 2.14

Staple gun and stapler: $11

Now I have a restored table for under $ 50. I think it’s a deal! Suggestions and comments are welcome…More than happy to help anyone that decides to take on a similar project.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Labor of Love

  1. totally brilliant….. and this is say aft having an experience with a Carpenter who could not distinguish the diff betn teak brown n oak brown!!!!! okay now its time u guys moved back here im sending my carpenter to you for classes πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

