Drained

The mother of all testing is going on right now.
I haven’t had an adult conversation in two weeks,
I haven’t stepped out of the confines of the house for two weeks.
All I’ve been doing is nursing Neil back to health from this crazy sickness that has been on his case for the last two weeks.
My life in the last two weeks has gone from super-dupper happy to crazy-in-the-head-nancy.
I haven’t eaten a good meal, haven’t got my sleep, haven’t showered decently, and haven’t had the luxury of chatting with anyone at a stretch for the last two weeks.
Right now, all I want to do is soak in a tub of water, go under, blow bubbles, and shut the world out. How do you explain to a toddler that being sick also means being confined to four walls of his house and being nursed by his one and only mother. He obviously is tired of my face and my tricks. All he wants to do is go out, which he can’t, and any attempts to explain gets faced with shrieks and screams. I am at my wits end trying to find ways to entertain him and he’s had it up to his neck with his mom’s love.
This is when I wish we had the easy button. Press it. Be done with it. Right now my hair is literally standing up. This will pass. I will write cheerfully again.

In hope!

Leave a Reply

